Ritual and Repetition


Gregory Steel
March 1, 2007, 12:18 am
Filed under: Ritual and Repetition

g_steel1.jpg

A Charmed Life, 2002
3 min excerpt – Full Running Time 25 hours
Gregory Steel – Carmel Indiana

g_steel2.jpg

This video performance was filmed over a 6 month period, every day I performed the same exact sequence of unwrapping and wrapping the object with the rope. It begs the question of how much of our day becomes a mindless exercise in futility and does the habit of this ritual serve any real purpose? The original video was complied into a 25 hour segment presented in Barcelona Spain and in Ann Arbor at the University of Michigan.

www.gregorysteel.com

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I can relate to this idea of mindless exercises which when go threw, many things we do are so repetitive it becomes habit, often I accidently drive in the wrong direction because it is a habit for me to turn right on this road or left on that road, and I don’t realize until I arrive at my destination finding that I am in a familiar place but not where I was wanted to end up.

Comment by Mary




Leave a Reply

